Specialty & Disabled Tags
Specialty TagsThe Georgia Department of Revenue's website has a list of available specialty tags along with applicable fees.
RequirementsMost specialty tags require the following:
- An annual specialty tag fee
- An annual tag renewal fee
- A one time manufacturing fee
- Any documents required
FeesThe Tax Commissioner is required by Georgia law to collect any fees associated with specialty tags and does not determine the fee amounts.
If all required fees are paid and the specialty tag requested is not in stock, a 90 day temporary operating permit will be issued to the applicant. Once the specialty tag becomes available, it will be mailed to the registered owner’s address.
Disabled Placards & PlatesTo obtain a disabled person's license plate or placard, a notarized MV-9D (Disabled Person's Parking Affidavit) completed by a licensed healthcare practitioner must be submitted.
Disabled Person's License PlateThe fee for a disabled person's license plate is $20. Other fees and penalties may apply including ad valorem tax or title ad valorem tax.
Disabled Person's PlacardsTemporary placards are valid for six months from the issue date. To renew a temporary placard, a newly-completed MV-9D must be submitted.
Permanent placards must be replaced every four years. To renew a permanent placard, a newly-completed MV-9D must be submitted.